NEET UG Photo & Signature Size 2026
NEET UG 2026 changed its uploads: the postcard-size photo is no longer uploaded, and the single left-thumb image was replaced by impressions of the fingers and thumbs of both hands. You still upload a passport-size photo and signature, and a live photo is matched with your Aadhaar.
Checked against: NEET (UG) 2026 Information Bulletin (the 2027 bulletin is not out yet) · last checked 19 Oct 2026 · हिंदी
Upload requirements at a glance
| Upload | Size | File size | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Passport-size photo | Not specified in the bulletin | 10–200 KB | JPG |
| Signature | Not specified in the bulletin | 10–100 KB | JPG |
| Finger & thumb impressions | Left and right hand, as one image | 50–200 KB | JPG |
| Postcard-size photo | 4" × 6" prints only — not uploaded in 2026 | — | — |
Requirements change between notifications. Always confirm against the official notice before you submit.
Make your NEET UG photo and signature here
Drop your photo or scan here, or click to choose
JPG, PNG or WebP. It stays on your device — nothing is uploaded.
- Dimensions
- File size
- JPEG quality
The image was smaller than the minimum size, so a few bytes of blank metadata were added. The picture itself is unchanged.
Download JPGRules for each upload
Passport-size photo
- Recent passport-size photograph, colour or black & white.
- Your face (without mask) should cover about 80% of the photo, with ears visible, on a white background.
- Spectacles only if you wear them regularly. Polaroid and computer-generated photos are not accepted.
- A live photo is captured by webcam or phone and matched with your Aadhaar photo.
Signature
- JPG/JPEG, 10 KB to 100 KB, clearly legible.
Finger & thumb impressions
- Impressions of the fingers and thumbs of both hands, in JPG/JPEG.
- The bulletin gives two ranges (10–200 KB and 50–300 KB); a file between 50 KB and 200 KB satisfies both, so the tool aims for that.
- Unclear impressions lead to rejection.
Postcard-size photo
- Keep 4–6 postcard-size (4" × 6") colour prints with a white background; one is carried to the exam centre.
Before you apply
- Keep 6–8 passport-size and 4–6 postcard-size colour prints of the same photo; the passport photo is pasted on the attendance sheet.
- "Name and date on the photo" and "72 DPI" rules seen on some websites are not in the official 2026 bulletin.
- Re-check this page when the NEET UG 2027 bulletin is released.
How to prepare and upload your NEET UG files, step by step
- Download the NEET (UG) Information Bulletin from neet.nta.nic.in and read the photo, signature and impression section. This page follows the 2026 bulletin; check the 2027 one when it is released.
- Get one recent passport-size photo (colour or black & white) on a white background, without a mask, with your face covering about 80% of the frame and both ears visible. Wear spectacles only if you use them regularly; Polaroid and computer-generated photos are not accepted.
- Order prints of that same photo at the studio: 6–8 passport-size and 4–6 postcard-size (4" × 6") colour prints on a white background.
- On white paper, sign clearly. On another sheet, place the impressions of the fingers and thumbs of both hands — left and right together, so they can be scanned as one image.
- In the tool above, open the Passport-size photo tab. It crops to 3.5 : 4.5; zoom until your face fills about 80% with the ears inside, then make a JPG of 10–200 KB.
- Open the Signature tab (3 : 1 shape) and make a legible JPG of 10–100 KB, ticking "Make the paper pure white".
- Open the Finger & thumb impressions tab. It keeps the shape of your crop, so frame both hands, whiten the paper and make a JPG of 50–200 KB — a size that satisfies both ranges printed in the bulletin.
- Upload the three files in the NEET application. A live photo is captured by webcam or phone and matched with your Aadhaar photo, so sit in good light.
- Keep the prints safe: a passport photo is pasted on the attendance sheet and one postcard-size print is carried to the exam centre.
Why NEET UG uploads get rejected — and how to fix each one
- Face too small in the photo, or ears hidden. Fix: NTA wants about 80% of the photo to be your face, ears visible. Zoom in with the tool until the face fills the frame.
- Photo with a mask, a Polaroid print or a computer-generated picture. Fix: None of these is accepted. Use a recent studio-style passport photo without a mask.
- Spectacles in the photo when you do not normally wear them. Fix: Retake the photo without them; spectacles are allowed only for regular wearers.
- Only the left thumb uploaded, as in older years. Fix: NEET 2026 replaced the single left-thumb image with impressions of the fingers and thumbs of both hands. Redo the sheet with both hands.
- Unclear finger or thumb impressions. Fix: Unclear impressions lead to rejection. Press each finger evenly on clean white paper, scan in good light and keep the file between 50 and 200 KB.
- Signature hard to read or above 100 KB. Fix: Sign again more clearly and remake it in the Signature tab within 10–100 KB.
- Postcard photo prepared for upload, or name and date added to the photo. Fix: The 2026 bulletin asks for neither. Keep the postcard photo as prints only and upload a plain passport-size photo.
NEET UG final checklist before you submit
- Passport-size photo: JPG, 10–200 KB, about 80% face, ears visible, white background, no mask.
- Signature: JPG, 10–100 KB, clearly legible.
- Finger & thumb impressions of both hands: one JPG, 50–200 KB, every impression clear.
- 6–8 passport-size and 4–6 postcard-size (4" × 6") prints of the same photo.
- Aadhaar ready, since the live photo is matched with your Aadhaar photo.
- Bulletin of the current year checked before you submit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEET UG 2026 photo size?
A passport-size photo of 10 KB to 200 KB in JPG, with about 80% of the image being your face (ears visible) on a white background.
Is the postcard-size photo uploaded in NEET 2026?
No. The 2026 bulletin does not ask for a postcard photo upload; keep 4" × 6" prints and carry one to the exam.
What size should the finger and thumb impression file be?
The bulletin mentions both 10–200 KB and 50–300 KB. A JPG between 50 KB and 200 KB meets both, which is what the tool targets.
Do I need to write my name and date on the NEET photo?
Not according to the official 2026 bulletin. The "name and date on the photo" and "72 DPI" rules seen on some websites are not in it.
Can my NEET photo be black and white?
Yes. The 2026 bulletin accepts a recent passport-size photograph in colour or black & white, as long as the face covers about 80% with ears visible on a white background.
Official sources
Image EditPro is not affiliated with National Testing Agency (NTA) — NEET (UG). See our Disclaimer.
Other exams and documents
IBPS · SSC · UPSC · RRB NTPC · JEE Main · CUET UG · PAN Card · OJAS Gujarat
More help: Image size for online forms · Passport photo size in pixels · Compress to any KB