JEE Main Photo & Signature Size 2026

JEE Main asks for a colour passport-size photo of 10–200 KB and a signature of 10–100 KB, both in JPG, and captures a live photo during the application. There is no thumb impression upload.

Checked against: JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin (the 2027 bulletin is expected around Oct–Nov 2026) · last checked 19 Oct 2026 · हिंदी

Upload requirements at a glance

UploadSize File sizeFormat
Photo Not specified in the bulletin 10–200 KB JPG
Signature Not specified in the bulletin 10–100 KB JPG

Requirements change between notifications. Always confirm against the official notice before you submit.

Make your JEE Main photo and signature here

Drop your photo or scan here, or click to choose

JPG, PNG or WebP. It stays on your device — nothing is uploaded.

Rules for each upload

Photo

  • Recent passport-size photograph in COLOUR.
  • About 80% of the photo should be your face (without mask), ears visible, on a white background.
  • A live photo is also captured by webcam or phone during the application.

Signature

  • JPG/JPEG, clearly legible, 10 KB to 100 KB.

Before you apply

  • The bulletin gives no pixel or DPI requirement — only the KB range.
  • Your Class 10 certificate goes up as a PDF of 50–300 KB.
  • Re-check this page when the JEE Main 2027 bulletin is published.

How to prepare and upload your JEE Main files, step by step

  1. Download the JEE (Main) Information Bulletin from jeemain.nta.nic.in. This page follows the 2026 bulletin; the 2027 engineering-entrance bulletin is expected around October–November 2026, so compare the numbers once it is out.
  2. Book a fresh colour photograph — JEE Main does not take black and white. Ask for a white background, no mask, and a close crop so your face covers about 80% of the picture with both ears showing.
  3. Sign your name on plain white paper so every stroke is legible, and scan it.
  4. Scan your Class 10 certificate separately as a PDF between 50 KB and 300 KB; this is a document upload, not an image the photo tool makes.
  5. In the tool above, choose the Photo tab. The bulletin sets no pixel or DPI value, only 10–200 KB, so the tool crops to a 3.5 : 4.5 passport frame — zoom until the face fills about 80% and the ears stay inside.
  6. Choose the Signature tab, which crops to a 3 : 1 strip, tick "Make the paper pure white" and save a JPG within 10–100 KB.
  7. There is no thumb or finger impression upload for JEE Main, so you only need these two JPG files and the PDF.
  8. Upload everything in the JEE Main application form, where a live photo is also captured through your webcam or phone.
  9. Applying for CUET UG as well? Its signature cap is 50 KB, half of the JEE Main limit, so make a separate signature file for it rather than reusing this one.

Why JEE Main uploads get rejected — and how to fix each one

  • Photo in black and white. Fix: JEE Main needs a colour photograph. Retake it in colour and remake the file in the Photo tab.
  • Face filling only a small part of the photo, or ears not visible. Fix: Zoom with the slider until your face is about 80% of the frame, with both ears in view.
  • Coloured or patterned background, or a mask in the photo. Fix: The bulletin asks for a white background and a face without a mask. Retake the picture against a white wall.
  • Signature scrawled or faint. Fix: NTA asks for a clearly legible signature. Sign again with a darker pen and use "Make the paper pure white".
  • Signature over 100 KB or under 10 KB. Fix: Remake it in the Signature tab, which keeps the file between 10 and 100 KB.
  • Class 10 certificate uploaded as a JPG, or outside 50–300 KB. Fix: The certificate has to be a PDF of 50–300 KB. Rescan it as a PDF document.

JEE Main final checklist before you submit

  • Colour photo, JPG, 10–200 KB, face about 80%, ears visible, white background, no mask.
  • Legible signature, JPG, 10–100 KB.
  • Class 10 certificate as a 50–300 KB PDF.
  • No thumb impression needed.
  • Webcam or phone ready for the live photo in the application.
  • Numbers compared with the latest JEE (Main) bulletin.

Frequently asked questions

What is the JEE Main photo size?

A colour passport-size photo in JPG of 10 KB to 200 KB, with your face covering about 80% of the image and ears visible on a white background.

What is the JEE Main signature size?

JPG/JPEG of 10 KB to 100 KB, clearly legible.

Is a thumb impression needed for JEE Main?

No. The JEE Main 2026 bulletin does not ask for a thumb impression upload.

Can I upload a black-and-white photo for JEE Main?

No. The JEE (Main) bulletin asks for a recent passport-size photograph in colour. A grey or black-and-white picture should be retaken in colour.

In what format is the Class 10 certificate uploaded for JEE Main?

As a PDF between 50 KB and 300 KB. It is a separate upload from the JPG photo and signature, so scan it as a document.

Official sources

Image EditPro is not affiliated with National Testing Agency (NTA) — JEE (Main). See our Disclaimer.

Other exams and documents

IBPS · SSC · UPSC · RRB NTPC · NEET UG · CUET UG · PAN Card · OJAS Gujarat

More help: Image size for online forms · Passport photo size in pixels · Compress to any KB